Hero Women's Indian Open 2016

About Hero Women’s Indian Open

The Hero Women’s Indian Open, now in its tenth year, is the ultimate proof of the rapid strides made by Women’s Professional Golf in India. It attracts the very best of talent from across the globe with the majority of players coming from Europe and Asia.

Scheduled in the latter half of the season, the Hero Women’s Indian Open is an exciting halt for all participants, since the race for the Order of Merit on the Ladies European Tour (LET) gets really intense.

The tournament offers an opportunity to talented young Indian women golfers to test their skills against some of their overseas counterparts. The Hero Women’s Indian Open was originally sanctioned by the Ladies Asian Golf Tour (LAGT) in 2007. Recognition by the Ladies European Tour (LET) followed in 2010, adding further prestige to the event.

The tournament began with a prize purse of US$100,000 in 2007, and has now grown to US$ 400,000 – a rise of 400%. The field for the Women’s Indian Open has consisted of some Marquee players, notable amongst them multiple Major winner Yani Tseng (Taiwan), who won the inaugural DLF Women’s Indian Open.

Since then, legendary players like Laura Davies, who won in 2010, and other emerging and established players have featured at the event. They include the likes of Gwladys Nocera, winner of the first-ever Ladies European Tour sanctioned event in India held in 2008 and Phatlum Pornanong, now an LPGA player, who has thrice won the Indian Open, among others.

This year’s edition will be co-sanctioned by the LET and Women’s Golf Association of India (WGAI). The tournament will also see LPGA star, Brittany Lincicome, in action for the first time in India. The two time Major winner Lincicome will be keen to make an impact along with 12 Olympians from 2016 Rio Olympics (List below).

Gwladys Nocera - France
Victoria Lovelady - Brazil
Maha Haddioui - Morocco
Chloe Leurquin - Belgium
Giulia Sergas - Italy
Klara Spilkova - Czech republic
Noora Tamminen - Finland
Aditi Ashok - India
Ursula Wikstrom - Finland
Christine Wolf - Austria
Nanna Koerstz Madsen - Denmark
Stephanie Meadow - Northern Ireland

  • Title Sponsor

  • Presenting Sponsor

  • Supported By

  • Powered By

  • Gold Sponsor

  • Silver Sponsors

  • Official Partners

Sanctioning Body

Supported by

  • Official Equipment Supplier

  • Official Apparel

  • Official Airlines

  • Official Beverage partner

  • Official Online Media partner

  • Event Manager